2. Study your environment

It is great to see you have come back for more of this series. I hope you have your journal with you and if you have some questions, please feel free to send them to me and I will work on giving you some answers.

So let’s get into today’s lesson.

As I said in the previous post, my job at the multinational I worked for was a dream job. I was self-assured to retire from there when I was at age 60. I was proud to be known that I worked there. Every year during performance reviews, I was candid with my bosses and that process enabled me to become better and better. Every time I got a letter for promotion, I would remember the words I told my interview panel when I was getting the job, “In 10 years, I want to be at middle, if not senior management level.” I looked back at the various capacities I had served and roles I had taken up; for sure, I attained what I had written on my CV when applying for the job.

Somewhere along the way, however, something changed. I dreaded wearing my name tag, I hesitated to add value that no one had asked for, I began settling for mediocre output, I started defining where my job started and ended, I started looking at the clock and grudgingly working past the set hours of work. I even retrieved and updated my CV to submit it to job sites. This was the beginning of what would be the writing on the wall for me. This is when I started entertaining the thoughts of resigning.

The question I am asking you in this article is this:

Are you seeing some writing on the wall that you should be paying attention to? What is that writing?

It could be:

  • Your values and the organization’s values don’t sync anymore
  • The organization is not stable anymore due to the operating environment e.g. the company is being sold, or it is merging, or it is downsizing,
  • You have reached the proverbial ceiling
  • You are getting cold shoulder treatment by people who previously would not have taken a decision without your input
  • You are being blamed and being treated harshly for things that didn’t seem so important before
  • You are being embarrassed in front of your juniors or peers
  • Your authority is being usurped e.g. you are a department head and you can’t even approve an emergency day off for your team member
  • Your value adds that would earn you accolades are now a source of ridicule and disapproval.

You read the writing on the wall without the influence of personal bias, emotions, and grape vine talk.

As you read your environment, it is important to answer the following questions candidly:

  1. What is the underlying element of where you and the organization part ways?

Who or what change? The values/ principles? The strategy? The agenda? The people?

  1. Knowing that no organization is perfect, what are you willing to compromise/ sacrifice from your end to continue working, even if for a short while, and giving your best?

If what you zeroed in on can be changed, would you reconsider your decision to leave?

  1. Can you find a better alternative for an employer than the organization you are presently working for?

If so, list them and the reasons why they would pick you out of a host of other equally qualified people.

Just like the previous lesson:

  1. journal your review
  2. answer the questions as honestly as you can. (A fish bone style is highly recommended)
  3. share your answers with your confidant and/or take the bold step to send them to me for a free review and consultation.
  4. Subscribe to the blog if you haven’t already done so to ensure you don’t miss the next article where we will be dealing with part 1 of planning and executing your exit strategy.

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT

We are starting a community to build more traction for Strategy and Innovation in career transition

Higher quality articles, podcasts, videos and toolkits will only be for exclusive members

Keep following our blog and subscribe with your email so that you don’t miss on the founder members’ benefits!!

Date of Launch: Just a few weeks away.

Leave a Reply

