From Employment to Business: Lesson 5

Lesson 5: The unseen pearls of success

In the recent past, I have come to learn that my past knowledge gained through years of work, was foundational. Every entrepreneur who goes into business for the first time with a know it all attitude set him/ herself for failure from day 1.

I went into my plan thinking that I knew the business well. What was aligned to my experience worked well. Until I went into the terrain of sales. Cold calls, gatekeepers in form of receptionists and security guards were new for me. I would show up at a gate and say I am from this well known company, and I would be greeted quite respectably and even offered a cup of tea as I waited. Lo and behold, now I turn up at some of the same receptions with my company name and I realise, it’s a totally different ball game.

Learning is a journey that exposes our inadequacies of knowledge, our insecurities of being subjects. Yet it is a journey that is filled with numerous,

My Take

In any place of newness such as running a business when you have always been employed, there is a learning curve. True and impactful learning almost always requires us to roll up our sleeves and get dirty. One entrepreneur in his story said that he went to a factory that made one of the products he was interested in and had to stay there for a month to understand all the processes of manufacturing. His agenda was to find out what in the process could be improved for a better product and more cost effective. That meant he forgot his status of being a boss to embrace the status of a factory worker.

To run a kindergarten, you might have to pick up the mop to clean. To learn the art of consulting, you might need to be at the feet of a rude guru. Swallow the insults, be blind to the mocking situations and learn. Humility is about leaving pride in the suitcase that contains your old payslips. 

A humble heart is a platform for a teachable mind. Teachability is often characterised by questions. With those questions, humility allows you the discipline to listen to those who have answers – without spite and with genuine enthusiasm.

Teachability is not a passive, reception-only status. It is also characterized by the zeal and effort applied to practising and doing what has been learnt.

These, humility and teachability,are the priceless, unseen pearls of success

Once again I thank you for taking the time to learn from my experience.

Look out for lesson number 6 right here. If you are busy and  appreciate a reminder, please subscribe to the blog and you will get the lesson straight in your mailbox.

Thank you for taking the time to engage with me.

Leave a Reply

